Qwest.com

Multiple Marketing people from qwest have bothered me today. Namely, Jake Gull and William Valentine. After multiple 'cold sell' emails, they continue to attempt to contact me. I have relayed my disinterest in Qwest's services, and recommend to others reading this page to not consider them as a viable alternative for any type of Internet service.

Furthermore, they have tried to call me multiple times from these numbers:

415.495.6987 (3:16pm PST)
415.495.6980 (2:48pm and 12:55pm PST) [Kurt Autrey can be reached here]
Click here to hear them leave 'Eat my fuck' on my voice mail. It was left from the 415.495.6980 number.

Another guy (Kurt Autrey) got my number from either Jake or William and states he is from 'Allied Riser Communications'. His number is in the same block of numbers as phone contacts from qwest. Oddly, the qwest people sign their emails with 925 area code phone numbers. Back to Kurt. Kurt also has a message on the i5ive.com site:
  Author:    kurta       [Open a permanent link to this message]
Date:   September 1, 1998 10:52 AM
Subject:   kurt autrey Hi I am a white male 29, Italian/American lookin
kurt autrey

Hi I am a white male 29, Italian/American looking japanese penpals.I now live in California, close to Stanford University in the Bay Area. I have lived and worked in Tokyo for three years but the less I use my Japanese the more I have forgotten it. Therefore I am interested in somebody conversing with me in Japanese/English.

Please give me a e-mail and let me know how you are doing. I can be reached at kautrey@wanotech.com.

Talk to you soon!
Kurt

I wonder if qwest and arcbroadband are not the same group of guys working to resell uswest services or something. They appear to have little technical knowledge. For instance, they all asked me who my provider was. Anyone who knows how to telnet knows how to figure that information out. These marketing schmucks are looking to dupe people and become unfriendly when ignored.

here are some email exchanges:

iDate: Wed, 21 Mar 2001 10:25:48 -0800 (PST)
From: Rudy 
To: "Gull, Jake R" 
Subject: RE: Qwest


Yes, leave me alone!  If you can't figure out who my provider is, you are
commiting a technical faux pas.  Please do not email me again, and please
remove me from your marketing target list.






---------------------------------------------------
    Join my ISP: http://www.monkeybrains.net/
---------------------------------------------------

On Wed, 21 Mar 2001, Gull, Jake R wrote:

_Are you the leader of the monkeys ? Nice response. Sharp cat.
_
_-----Original Message-----
_From: Rudy [mailto:rudy@monkeybrains.net]
_Sent: Wednesday, March 21, 2001 10:55 AM
_To: Gull, Jake R
_Subject: Re: Qwest
_
_
_
_Eat my fuck!
_
_
_---------------------------------------------------
_    Join my ISP: http://www.monkeybrains.net/
_---------------------------------------------------
_
_On Tue, 20 Mar 2001, Gull, Jake R wrote:
_
__
__Who is your current network provider ?
__
__
__Jake Gull
__Major Account Executive
__(925) 974-4924 Direct
__(925) 932-0599 Fax
__
__
_



Date: Wed, 21 Mar 2001 10:23:21 -0800 (PST) From: Rudy To: "Valentine, William H" Subject: Re: info Satan! Leave me alone. --------------------------------------------------- Join my ISP: http://www.monkeybrains.net/ --------------------------------------------------- On Wed, 21 Mar 2001, Valentine, William H wrote: _Who is your current network provider? _ _Will Valentine _Qwest Communications _Senior Account Executive _925-974-4953 _ <> _
Date: Wed, 21 Mar 2001 14:52:19 -0600 From: Kurt Autrey To: "'rudy@monkeybrains.net'" Rudy, I think that there might of been some misunderstanding a second ago. The reason why I was calling, from what I understand your company is looking for a T-1 right? I wanted to speak with you in regards to that. My company Allied Riser Communications is a Tier 1 provide which is nationwide. Are specialty is VPN, Internet Access, Professional Services etc. As you can see, I am located in the SF area as well as yourself and would like to see if my company can stream line yours in anyway. Let's Talk Kurt Autrey Account Executive Allied Riser Communications 555 Market St. 13th Floor San Francisco, CA 94105 Office: 415-498-2912 Fax: 415-495-7413 www.arcbroadband.com

Qwest's Internic record:

Registrant:
Qwest Communications (QWEST4-DOM)
   555 17th Street
   Denver, CO 80202
   US

   Domain Name: QWEST.COM

   Administrative Contact, Technical Contact, Billing Contact:
      Qwest Communications  (QC271-ORG)  dns-admin@QWESTIP.NET
      Qwest Communications
      4250 North Fairfax Drive
      Arlington, VA 22203
      USA
      703-363-0220
Maillogs of interacting with Qwest personal:
Mar 21 09:55:24 pizza sendmail[2267]: f2LHtJJ02265: to=, ctladdr= (1000/1000), delay=00:00:05, xdelay=00:00:05, mailer=esmtp, pri=30692, relay=uswgco33.uswest.com. [199.168.32.122], dsn=2.0.0, stat=Sent (f2LHtLu13311 Message accepted for delivery)
Mar 21 10:22:02 pizza sendmail[2769]: f2LIM1V02769: from=, size=1719, class=0, nrcpts=1, msgid=<2328142DF53AD411BC6B0008C78644C0022C01F9@Denntex020.qwest.net>, proto=ESMTP, daemon=MTA, relay=uswgco34.uswest.com [199.168.32.123]
Mar 21 10:22:57 pizza sendmail[2802]: f2LIMvV02802: from=, size=1419, class=0, nrcpts=1, msgid=, proto=ESMTP, daemon=MTA, relay=uswgco35.uswest.com [199.168.32.124]
Mar 21 10:23:27 pizza sendmail[2809]: f2LINLb02807: to=, ctladdr= (1000/1000), delay=00:00:06, xdelay=00:00:06, mailer=esmtp, pri=30752, relay=uswgne23.uswest.com. [199.168.33.35], dsn=2.0.0, stat=Sent (f2LINRE01197 Message accepted for delivery)
Mar 21 10:24:29 pizza sendmail[2844]: f2LIOTV02844: from=, size=1489, class=0, nrcpts=1, msgid=<2328142DF53AD411BC6B0008C78644C0022C01FA@Denntex020.qwest.net>, proto=ESMTP, daemon=MTA, relay=uswgco35.uswest.com [199.168.32.124]
Mar 21 10:25:49 pizza sendmail[2895]: f2LIPm802893: to=, ctladdr= (1000/1000), delay=00:00:01, xdelay=00:00:01, mailer=esmtp, pri=31325, relay=uswgne23.uswest.com. [199.168.33.35], dsn=2.0.0, stat=Sent (f2LIPoE02195 Message accepted for delivery)
Mar 21 10:28:00 pizza sendmail[2917]: f2LIR2302915: to=, ctladdr= (1000/1000), delay=00:00:58, xdelay=00:00:58, mailer=esmtp, pri=31586, relay=uswgne23.uswest.com. [199.168.33.35], dsn=2.0.0, stat=Sent (f2LIS1E03164 Message accepted for delivery)
------- Bounce from Qwest installed on server --------
Mar 21 10:30:56 pizza sendmail[2999]: f2LIUuV02999: ruleset=check_mail, arg1=, relay=uswgco35.uswest.com [199.168.32.124], reject=550 5.0.0 ... Too much honkey ass spam from your domain.
Mar 21 10:30:56 pizza sendmail[2999]: f2LIUuV02999: from=, size=1653, class=0, nrcpts=0, proto=ESMTP, daemon=MTA, relay=uswgco35.uswest.com [199.168.32.124]
Mar 21 10:31:41 pizza sendmail[3010]: f2LIVfV03010: ruleset=check_mail, arg1=, relay=uswgco34.uswest.com [199.168.32.123], reject=550 5.0.0 ... Too much honkey ass spam from your domain.
Mar 21 10:31:41 pizza sendmail[3010]: f2LIVfV03010: from=, size=1242, class=0, nrcpts=0, proto=ESMTP, daemon=MTA, relay=uswgco34.uswest.com [199.168.32.123]

Here is some info on the first person who looked at this page:
209.24.201.10 - - [21/Mar/2001:18:36:45 -0800] "GET /qwest.html HTTP/1.1" 200 8145 "http://www.monkeybrains.net/" "Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 5.01; Windows NT)"
% host 209.24.201.0
0.201.24.209.IN-ADDR.ARPA domain name pointer mv-subnets.best.net

Qwest